THE WARRIOR

I just completed a new sculpture called The Warrior, made with all found materials. As with all of my work, this was a very organic process.

I carved the bust from a chunk of old cedar. I’d been looking at images of jade Buddhas, so the color was in my psyche. I wasn’t content with just another carved head, so challenged myself to also add metal, cloth and other wood elements.

Once the old saw handle was placed on the head, the piece suddenly came alive. From this point on, it guided my hand – revealed itself to me.

Here is a series of photos sharing the process with you.

-Woody

image

image

image

image

image

Woody

Leave a Reply

